

# Preserving Our Places in History Awards Master List, 2006-2021

# 2006 Award Recipients

#### **Elected Individuals**

- Congressman James E. Clyburn- National Elected Official
- State Representative Lonnie Hosey- State Elected Official
- Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr. of Charleston- Local Elected Official

#### **Organizations**

- Bettis Academy Heritage Team- Renovation of Biddle Hall
- Mt. Zion Rosenwald Preservation Committee- Preservation of Mt. Zion Rosenwald School
- Sweetgrass Cultural Arts Festival Committee- Sweetgrass Cultural Arts Festival
- GLEAMNS Human Resources Commission, the Palmetto Conservation Foundation, and the City of Greenwood- Preservation of the Benjamin E. Mays House
- The Committee for the Beautification and Restoration of Randolph Cemetery- Restoring Randolph Cemetery
- Historic Columbia Foundation- Jubilee Festival

# 2007 Award Recipients

#### **Individual Award**

Cecil J. Williams

### Lifetime Achievement Award

Emory Campbell

### **Group or Organization Award**

Center for Heirs' Property Preservation

#### **Project Award**

Camden African American Heritage Project

# **2008** Award Recipients

#### **Individual Award**

Clifton W. Anderson

#### **Project Award**

- Women's Baptist Educational and Missionary Convention of South Carolina
- Rock Hill Historical Marker Committee and the Piedmont Regional Association of Realtors

#### Group or Organization Award

54th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment, Company I Civil War Reenactment Unit

# Lifetime Achievement Award

Ronald Daise

### "Trailblazer" Award

Honorable Judge Matthew J. Perry

# **2009 Award Recipients**

#### Individual Award

Harlan Greene

#### **Project Award**

Carolina Low Country & Atlantic World Program (CLAW)

#### Group or Organization Award

David Williams & The Williams Muscadine Vineyard & Farm

#### Lifetime Achievement Award

The Penn Center

#### "Trailblazer" Award

- Rhoda Green
- Bobby Gin

# **2010 Award Recipients**

### **Individual Award**

Andrew Agha & Nicole Isengarger

### **Project Award**

The Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation

#### **Group or Organization Award**

The Sweet Grass Cultural Arts Festival Association

#### Lifetime Achievement Award

- Queen Quet
- Dr. Cleveland Sellers, Jr.

# **2011 Award Recipients**

#### **Individual Award**

Dr. Karen Chandler

### **Project Award**

The Seashore Farmers' Lodge Museum & Cultural Center

#### **Group or Organization Award**

Southeast Rural Community Outreach

#### Lifetime Achievement Award

Wilhelmina Prince Johnson

### Herbert A. DeCosta, Jr. Trailblazer Award

African American Historical Alliance of South Carolina

# **2012** Award Recipients

#### **Individual Award**

Rev. Dr. M. Charmaine Ragin

### **Project Award**

Historic Columbia Foundation Connecting Communities Through History

#### Group or Organization Award

Fort Sumter National Monument

#### **Lifetime Achievement Award**

Jack Solomon Bass

#### Herbert A. DeCosta, Jr. Trailblazer Award

AT&T African American History Calendar & Website

# **2013 Award Recipients**

#### Individual Award

Curtis Franks

#### **Project Award**

Town of Mount Pleasant for US 17 Road Widening Project

#### **Organization Award**

Charleston County for Palmetto Commerce Parkway, Inland Rice Fields Mitigation Effort

#### **Group Award**

Historic Columbia Foundation for the Mann-Simons Site

#### Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Walter Edgar

#### Herbert A. DeCosta, Jr. Trailblazer Award

Congressman James E. Clyburn

# **2014 Award Recipients**

#### **Individual Award**

Anita Joyce Singleton-Prather

#### **Project Award**

- Historic Brattonsville's By the Sweat of Our Brows
- Columbia SC 63: Our Story Matters

#### Group or Organization Award

- Preservation Society of Charleston
- The Mitchelville Preservation Project

#### Lifetime Achievement Award

Kitty "Miss Kitty" Wilson-Evans

#### Herbert A. DeCosta, Jr. Trailblazer Award

Jannie Harriot

# **2016 Award Recipients**

#### **Individual Award**

State Representative Joseph Neal

#### **Project Award**

- Daufuskie Endangered Places Program
- Restoration of the Woodrow Wilson Family Home

#### Group or Organization Award

Slave Dwelling Project

#### Lifetime Achievement Award

Senator Clementa Pinckney

#### Herbert A. DeCosta, Jr. Trailblazer Award

- Mayor Steve Benjamin
- Jonathan Green
- Willie Jefferies
- Attorney I.S. Leevy Johnson
- Rev. Nelson B. Rivers, III
- Dori Sanders
- Rev. Jesse L. Jackson, Sr.
- Congressman James E. and Mrs. Emily Clyburn
- Cecil Williams
- Justice Ernest Adolphus Finney, Jr.
- Harvey Bernard Gantt
- Eugene Harold Robinson
- Marian Wright Edelman
- Charles Frank Bolden, Jr.
- Mayor Joseph P. Riley

# **2017 Award Recipients**

#### **Individual Award**

Dr. Bobby Donaldson

#### **Project Award**

Heyward-Washington House

#### **Group or Organization Award**

Beaufort Monument Committee

### Leon A. Love Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. David H. Swinton

#### Herbert A. DeCosta Trailblazer Award

Dr. Luns C. Richardson

# 2017/2018 Award Recipients

#### **Project Award**

- Gullah Geechee Wisdom Cards
- There is Something About Edgefield

#### **Group or Organization Award**

WMBF News for In Their Own Words: Stories of Former S.C. Slaves told by Descendants

#### Leon A. Love Lifetime Achievement Award

Mabel James Dickey

#### Herbert A. DeCosta, Jr. Trailblazer Award

Dr. Barbara Williams Jenkins

#### Student Award

Enfinitee R. Irving for "How Did We Get to Now"

#### Legislator of the Year Award

Senator Vincent Sheheen

# **2019** Award Recipients

#### **Individual Award**

Mrs. Cassandra Williams Rush

#### **Project Award**

- Garvin-Garvey House
- Holly Springs Colored School
- Champion Pearson Funeral Home

#### Group or Organization Award

- Historic Charleston Foundation
- W. Gresham Meggett Equalization School Project
- City of Hartsville African American Cemetery Committee

#### Leon A. Love Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Willie Harriford

#### Herbert A. DeCosta, Jr. Trailblazer Award

Dr. Vivian Ayers Allen

#### **Commissioner of the Year Award**

Dr. Larry Watson

### Legislator of the Year Award

Representative Robert Q. Williams

# **2021** Award Recipients

#### **Individual Award**

Dr. Beatrice Rice Thompson

#### **Project Award**

The Cecil Williams South Carolina Civil Rights Museum

#### Group or Organization Award

- The Village Group
- Drayton Hall Preservation Trust

### Leon A. Love Lifetime Achievement Award

Joseph McGill

### Herbert A. DeCosta, Jr. Trailblazer Award for Innovative Leadership

Marilyn Hemingway

# Legislator of the Year Award

State Representative Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.

#### **Student Award**

Keighla Pope

# **SCAAHC Commissioner of the Year**

Dr. Abel Bartley

# Jannie Harriot Founders Award

Jannie Harriot